Syncing throttle bodies question

yabaiani
Club4AG Enthusiast
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:28 am

Syncing throttle bodies question

Postby yabaiani » Fri May 01, 2020 6:18 am

I was wondering what tools are required to sync up throttle bodies from a vacuum perspective, how do you actually do it.

I purchased a set of MRPs AT Power ITBs so wondering how to do it. Thank you!

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.


User avatar
oldeskewltoy
Club4AG MASTER
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:44 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Syncing throttle bodies question

Postby oldeskewltoy » Fri May 01, 2020 7:16 am

yabaiani wrote:I was wondering what tools are required to sync up throttle bodies from a vacuum perspective, how do you actually do it.

I purchased a set of MRPs AT Power ITBs so wondering how to do it. Thank you!



Image

I'd assume the directions that come with the kit should tell you how to set them up. If not, ask Barry @ MRP

As to the tool you use to measure the air flow... there are a couple of designs...

Image

and....

Image



essentially you put these over the opening and measure the air flow, and make the adjustment to balance the air flow
OST Cyl head porting, - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=300

Building a great engine takes knowing the end... before you begin :ugeek:

Enjoy Life... its the only one you get!

totta crolla
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 5:21 am
Location: Oxford U.K

Re: Syncing throttle bodies question

Postby totta crolla » Fri May 01, 2020 8:01 am

You definitely need a tool to measure the air flow as shown by OST
The important thing is to adjust the linkage off of idle.
A way to do this is to open the throttle a small set amount, this can be done by wedging the cable open. Then you need to adjust the linkages so that each itb reads the same. The tricky thing is then having enough adjustment so that you can get it to idle once all are closed. Some trial and error will be required.

User avatar
jondee86
Moderator
Posts: 2585
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Syncing throttle bodies question

Postby jondee86 » Sun May 03, 2020 5:48 pm

If the AT Power throttles are "delivered fully assembled" as they state in their literature,
the throttle stops and linkages should be factory set, and not require calibration. If this is
correct, then I would strongly advise against dismantling them or interfering with the
adjustment in any way. It can be a frustrating job calibrating them without the correct
equipment, and one best avoided if possible :)

Cheers... jondee86
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress
depends on the unreasonable man.

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.


User avatar
oldeskewltoy
Club4AG MASTER
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:44 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Syncing throttle bodies question

Postby oldeskewltoy » Mon May 04, 2020 3:39 pm

jondee86 wrote:If the AT Power throttles are "delivered fully assembled" as they state in their literature,
the throttle stops and linkages should be factory set, and not require calibration. If this is
correct, then I would strongly advise against dismantling them or interfering with the
adjustment in any way. It can be a frustrating job calibrating them without the correct
equipment, and one best avoided if possible :)

Cheers... jondee86



GREAT point!!!
OST Cyl head porting, - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=300

Building a great engine takes knowing the end... before you begin :ugeek:

Enjoy Life... its the only one you get!

allencr
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: Syncing throttle bodies question

Postby allencr » Tue May 05, 2020 1:12 am

yabaiani wrote:...what tools are required...


Required? None, except a piece of tubing, mechanic's stethoscope or one of those tube type airline headphones and halfway decent hearing in one ear. Listening to the hiss at the same position on each one will easily get you within those marks on the Unisyn's scale. IDK about the sensitivity of the German thingy.

//////
Also, Any & all advertising claims are highly suspect, especially automotive aftermarket stuff.
Good luck.

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.



Return to “TECH: Corolla AE86”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests