bad gauge cluster possibly?

User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:04 pm

so my car isn't running at the moment but when it was i noticed at a point the tach stopped working, fuel gauge, water temp gauge all stopped working. The only thing that did work was the speedo and not accurately either, is it possible my gauge cluster itself is just bad? all the fuses and everything are good and i'm stumped
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.


totta crolla
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 5:21 am
Location: Oxford U.K

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby totta crolla » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:48 am

Does 'everything' include any Earthing points ?
You could try gently 'wiggling' the connector(s) with the ignition on to see if anything happens to the gauges, I think that the fuel gauge may even work without the ignition.
The speedometer will continue to work as it is mechanically driven.

User avatar
jondee86
Moderator
Posts: 2433
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby jondee86 » Sat Sep 27, 2014 5:22 pm

daveskatesallday wrote:... all the fuses and everything are good...

Have you checked the 7.5A GAUGE fuse in the #1 junction box located
in the driver's side kick panel ?

Cheers... jondee86
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress
depends on the unreasonable man.


Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.


User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:29 pm

jondee86 wrote:
daveskatesallday wrote:... all the fuses and everything are good...

Have you checked the 7.5A GAUGE fuse in the #1 junction box located
in the driver's side kick panel ?

Cheers... jondee86


i can check it again just to be sure, does that fuse power everything to the gauge cluster i'm assuming?
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:30 pm

allencr wrote:No.
Is the board fried & ugly looking & smell burnt, otherwise it's individual bits & pieces?


no it's not fried and doesn't smell at all
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

User avatar
jondee86
Moderator
Posts: 2433
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby jondee86 » Fri Oct 03, 2014 1:16 am

daveskatesallday wrote:... just to be sure, does that fuse power everything to the gauge cluster ?

Yes... the GAUGE fuse powers the function all the gauges, but the
illumination of the gauges is powered from a different fuse.

Cheers... jondee86
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress
depends on the unreasonable man.

User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:56 pm

jondee86 wrote:
daveskatesallday wrote:... just to be sure, does that fuse power everything to the gauge cluster ?

Yes... the GAUGE fuse powers the function all the gauges, but the
illumination of the gauges is powered from a different fuse.

Cheers... jondee86


ok i checked it the fuse wasn't blown but i changed it anyway still nothing, any other suggestions?
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

User avatar
jondee86
Moderator
Posts: 2433
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby jondee86 » Fri Oct 03, 2014 8:06 pm

If you have 12V at the GAUGE fuse, then you should have 12V at the...
- Oil Pressure Gauge
- Fuel Level Gauge
- Low Fuel Light
- Water Temp Gauge
- Tacho
- Brake Warning Light

If none of these work when the key is ON, then maybe you don't have
12V at the fuse ? Power to the GAUGE fuse comes from the ignution switch
via a blk/yel wire. But this wire also powers up a bunch of other stuff
(indicators, wipers and washers), so if these are working... ???

Cheers... jondee86
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress
depends on the unreasonable man.

User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Fri Oct 03, 2014 11:42 pm

jondee86 wrote:If you have 12V at the GAUGE fuse, then you should have 12V at the...
- Oil Pressure Gauge
- Fuel Level Gauge
- Low Fuel Light
- Water Temp Gauge
- Tacho
- Brake Warning Light

If none of these work when the key is ON, then maybe you don't have
12V at the fuse ? Power to the GAUGE fuse comes from the ignution switch
via a blk/yel wire. But this wire also powers up a bunch of other stuff
(indicators, wipers and washers), so if these are working... ???

Cheers... jondee86


brake warning light as in the E brake? (that works)
my wipers work also
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

User avatar
jondee86
Moderator
Posts: 2433
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby jondee86 » Sat Oct 04, 2014 12:38 am

In that case, it looks as so you have power to the dash, so the
only possibility I can think of is that the multipin plugs that connect
the under dash harness to the cluster have fallen off.

Cheers... jondee86
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress
depends on the unreasonable man.

User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:40 pm

jondee86 wrote:In that case, it looks as so you have power to the dash, so the
only possibility I can think of is that the multipin plugs that connect
the under dash harness to the cluster have fallen off.

Cheers... jondee86


this isn't mine but i'm using it as a reference picture but are you referring to these connectors here? when i was previously trying to diagnose the issue i did check these connectors to make sure they were pushed into the gauge cluster snug enough they weren't loose but it wouldn't hurt again, i suppose i could test each pin with a test light and the ignition on to see if each one is getting power? (i'm assuming each pin has power going to it, i could be wrong though)

Image
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

User avatar
jondee86
Moderator
Posts: 2433
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby jondee86 » Sat Oct 04, 2014 10:23 pm

You can work out which pins should have power from this....

Image

Cheers... jondee86
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress
depends on the unreasonable man.

User avatar
daveskatesallday
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: bad gauge cluster possibly?

Postby daveskatesallday » Sun Oct 05, 2014 1:36 am

wow thanks man that picture helps tons, i'll definitely be wrenching on the car tomorrow so i'll definitely see what is and isn't getting power and this should let me know where i need to start looking
Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.



Return to “TECH: Corolla AE86”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests