LSD upgrade?

rumsawatti
Club4AG Expert

LSD upgrade?

Postby rumsawatti » Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:15 am

Is this a bolt in upgrade to get LSD in an open differential? I want LSD, but a rear end is more expensive and too hard to find especially given my location. I don't really care for disk brakes, but I would like an LSD. Welding the differential is probably cheaper and easier, but I don't know how safe it is and hear mixed reviews. Anyhow, this site says that the Kaaz upgrade the open to LSD but does this OBX one from ebay do the same? Any helpful info on others ways to get LSD is appreciated!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/OBX-LSD-COROLLA ... 73&vxp=mtr

LongGrain

Re: LSD upgrade?

Postby LongGrain » Sun Apr 21, 2013 1:12 pm

uhh, thats for a GTS rear end, not SR5.

there arent really many LSD options for sr5 rear end, you're better off welding. I've been running welded diffs for 6 years now, never had a problem...

sqznby
Club4AG Enthusiast

Postby sqznby » Sun Apr 21, 2013 1:17 pm

^^^^
That

or

A GTS swap or make your own.

Welded is probably the easiest way to go.

rumsawatti
Club4AG Expert

Postby rumsawatti » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:28 pm

Ah, I see, I kind of figured that, but then the Kaaz description said it would upgrade an open differential to LSD so I got confused. Anyhow, so there isnt really any way to convert an open to LSD without replacing the entire rear end? What is the verdict on welding? Safe not safe? I hear many say its not very safe for street use.

LongGrain

Postby LongGrain » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:37 pm

i think you're confused.

yes, that kit you posted WILL convert an open differential to an LSD, but ONLY if you have an open GTS rear end, which you do not.