Question for LSD guru

YokoAE86
Club4AG Regular

Question for LSD guru

Postby YokoAE86 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:55 am

Hey Guys

Has anyone has experience of TRD 2 way LSD and the Cusco RS 2 way LSD. Which one is better. My existing OEM LSD is fooked and i don't want to repair it with the WEIR kit. TRD are telling me that their 2 way is discountinued.

Can anyone with some real experience give me some feedback. Which one is harsher on the axle? Which one is noiseier? Which one locks faster or better?

thanks

gotzoom?
Club4AG Expert

Re: Question for LSD guru

Postby gotzoom? » Thu Mar 28, 2013 8:42 am

I have a TRD 2-way and a Tomei T-traxx. Between the two, the Tomei works vastly better. It hooks up better and makes the car turn better. Both allow me to spin up the inside wheel if I am running too much rear swaybar, though, so if you're expecting spool-like lockup, you're not going to get it. I have no experience with the Cusco, but at nearly half the price, the Tomei is a good way to go, imo. Chatter and noise are all about the gear oil you use. I have run a variety of oils in diffs over the years and the one I found to work the best on clutch diffs is Motul 90PA. I had a lot of chatter when I first got the Tomei diff and used the gear oil that came with it. After changing to the Motul oil, I have no chattering at all.

Deuce Cam

Postby Deuce Cam » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:29 am

The Tomei unit is the least expensive and it's basically the same as the kaaz and cusco units.

I have a cusco 1.5 rs and it works great and locks hard, but it's also obnoxiously loud. I wouldn't recommend it for a street car.

kouki1986
Club4AG Enthusiast

Postby kouki1986 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:55 am

Kaaz is bearable noise and their also cheaper.
Cusco a bit higher on price and it is as noisy as kaaz but a little better performance in my opinion.
Tomei is good for over all performance but is not comfortable for daily drive.