newbie question

Anything about cars, as long as it's clean...
No offensive language, no profanity, no nudity, nothing that your mom will slap you for...
Be nice to others.
dg415

newbie question

Postby dg415 » Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:22 pm

Hi all,

So I'm a complete newbie to the 86. I've spent a long time admiring this car from afar, trying to read up as much info on it as I can on the net. I also got some experience "driving" it in Gran Turismo (if that even counts) and it probably doesn't need to be said that I've grown quite fond of it. I decided that I might try to buy one if I can find one in my area, so I started snooping around local classifieds to see if anyone was selling one. To my dismay, I discovered that the 86 is actually not very easy to find at all, and the few that are around are either heavily modified, trashed, or both.

But then something amazing happened.

I was looking around Craigslist and I discovered an ad for an 86 being sold in my area! Not only that, but the 86 is completely BONE stock, unmodified, and was never used for any sort of street racing/drifting/etc. The guy that is selling it apparently has no idea what he has, because when I spoke with him on the phone he didn't even know what kind of engine he had! He just said it had an "ae-86 engine", to which I replied asking him to look under the hood. It turns out he's got one of those 4-AC carb engines, not a 4-AGE which would have probably been more preferable. But, regardless of this, we're talking a bone-stock never-drifted all-original genuine 1985 AE-86 Corolla coupe that RUNS.