DIY: Poor man's door panels (made from scratch)

Lowtekk
Club4AG Enthusiast

DIY: Poor man's door panels (made from scratch)

Postby Lowtekk » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:57 pm

Club4AG,

After almost 30 years of abuse, a lot of our cars have tired looking door panels. The ones in my car were stained, half clipped, dilapidated pieces of **** with a couple pro-status speaker holes cut in them. Instead of paying a lot of cash for a clean set of original GTS black panels for a power windowed car, I decided to try my hand at making a reasonable alternative.

Be warned, I have zero experience in automotive upholstery. I couldn't sew my way out of a cardboard box.

Anyway, here goes...

Tools I used:
-Jig saw
-Power drill w/ a bit set
-Wood files (a big flat one, a small flat one, and a small circular)
-Screwdrivers (philps + flat)
-Car interior trim tools
-Open ended hacksaw
-Scissors
-X-acto knife
-A sharpie marker

Materials:
-Your old door panels (which be be pretty much ruined after we use them for templates)
-Tagboard (I used two 1/4in thick 2x4ft pieces. Each door panel needs at least a 44.5" x 17.75" piece of tagboard)
-Vinyl (or any material you want to use)
-Padding (if you want it)
-Automotive upholstery glue (the spray stuff, I used Permatex Headliner & Carpet adhesive)
-New door panel clips if your old ones are ruined/missing (Cabetoyota on ebay sells new sets)

Things to consider:
-The OEM door panels have a recessed section around the arm rests which is impossible (or a huge pain in the a**) to duplicate. This DIY gets around it by using some longer armrest screws and nylon spacers.
-Keep ALL of the factory clips + screws + big "staples", you can ditch the little fabric staples.
-Measure twice, cut once, etc.

Here's my passenger side door panel, 5 minutes after it came of the car. A+ speaker install. Missing clip mounts, flappy/busted tagboard, generally shitty:

Step 1: