HIGH comp Big port carby build with MANY questions

nyberrg
Club4AG Regular

HIGH comp Big port carby build with MANY questions

Postby nyberrg » Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:07 am

Yo! So this is gonna be a pretty long explanation before getting to the point..

I've been building a big port for a couple of years, as fast as my wallet has let me. The parts are a mix of things I came upon and planned purchaces, I don't really know what I built :? Anyways, it's together now and idles fine, but I have some questions about what the next step could be to make sure it keeps running fine.

I will start by listing some specs:

• Bored Big port block and shaved head, it was a bit warped before.
• HKS 264/272° cams.
• HKS Valve springs
• Supertech valves/guides, stock size
• ZRP con rods
• Wiseco oversize, high comp pistons. I'm unsure about the exact specs on these. The crown was above the block at TDC, by a bit and then some!

The engine runs on mikuni bike carbs and nodiz pro2 ignition. It has got a big radiator that keeps it cool + an oil cooler.

I ran a compression test on the cylinders and they all read high, really high, like 15 bar high, except for the first cylinder which was "only" at like 13.5 bar or something like that. I'm not too worried about this yet, really. I only did one test.

So, on to the questions:

• Since the compression is so high, is it a good idea to run extra crank case ventilation? Is a catch can a good idea?

• Is the compression uncontrollably high to run at 98 octane fuel? I could order a thicker head gasket down the line.

• What is a good AFR reading on a carbed 4A-G? I've heard so many different numbers by now..

• What is the weak point of a 4A-GE, how do I counter it? What supporting mods are the most important?

Cheers!

totta crolla
Club4AG Pro

Re: HIGH comp Big port carby build with MANY questions

Postby totta crolla » Sun Apr 12, 2020 3:08 pm