Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

User avatar
Jayrdee
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:25 am
Location: Lexington KY
Contact:

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby Jayrdee » Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:16 am

This is awesome
[I have no idea what I'm doing]
_____________________
instagram: @nrthrnfldsbnd

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.


User avatar
grappletech
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:13 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby grappletech » Sun Apr 08, 2018 6:55 pm

Glad incaught up to your build! It looks great!!!
87 GT-S Coupe Super Duper Clean
87 GT-S Coupe Beams 3sge (under construction because I'm slow and lazy and broke--- FML)
87 SR5 Coupe Shell. Who knows when I'll work on it.

T_AE86
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby T_AE86 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:25 am

Nice work! I'm thinking to buy Weir axles too.

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:28 am

So this is where I am at now. Having a bit of fitment issues with getting both calipers to line up properly to the rotor. I will have to hit up the hardware store to get some 2 3/4" ID washers to act as spacers and figure out a way to get them both to line up. The quad caliper bracket was designed to fit with OEM axles so with the weir axles it will take a little bit of customization. If it was two Wilwood caliper's it would be fine so if makeshift spacers wont work I might go that route and ditch the oem ones. If all goes well the car will be off the stands this weekend finally!

Image

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.


businessinuse
Club4AG Regular
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:14 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby businessinuse » Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:18 am

Post a video wot. Where the camera don’t fall off the dash haha. Only 6 views probably from me only.

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:15 pm

lol, no one was really supposed to see that video. I am in the middle of adding a wilwood proportioning valve because the one I had in previously was completely seized. So while I was doing that I decided to also has some hard lines to other set of calipers and install a hydro handbrake for shits and giggles. Should be done this weekend though and I will have a better video posted soon!

Autohaus_Z
Club4AG Enthusiast
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:45 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby Autohaus_Z » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:38 am

Did you have to do anything special to bolt the ae86 slave to the J160? I ground part of the bellhousing away where the 86 slave fluid ports hit, but I guess I didnt grind enough because last time I tried to reinstall one of the ears cracked and broke off. But likewise I dont feel like I am getting complete disengagement with the factory altezza slave.
Owner. Car Make Autohaus. San Jose, CA.
RnD/Product Testing. Battle Garage RS.
Amsoil Dealer # 5615215
IG @Autohaus_Z for AE86 fun, T50 trans builds, and track life!

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 7:43 am

Autohaus_Z wrote:Did you have to do anything special to bolt the ae86 slave to the J160? I ground part of the bellhousing away where the 86 slave fluid ports hit, but I guess I didnt grind enough because last time I tried to reinstall one of the ears cracked and broke off. But likewise I dont feel like I am getting complete disengagement with the factory altezza slave.


Nah I didn't have to do anything special. I just removed all of the hard lines that the j160 came with and the brackets and it bolted right up. I didn't even have to grind anything down. What makes you feel like you are not getting complete disengagement? I actually swapped back to the J160 slave cause the slave's rod is a bit longer than the ae86 one but I didn't have any disengagement issues only engagement ones at first.

Autohaus_Z
Club4AG Enthusiast
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:45 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby Autohaus_Z » Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:54 pm

Going to the altezza slave shifting was definitely not as smooth as when I had the oem slave installed. A big difference in our set ups thought is that I'm 4age -J160 via SQ adapter.

I might have sorted it this afternoon though. I had a slave push rod from some w58 equipped car that was about 3-5mm longer than the altezza unit. Bled the system again and you can definitely feel the extra disengagement in the pedal. Shifts far better than before also.

I'm running an ACT plate and disk. Quick google search and DSM guys as also either shimming the pivot ball or running an extended rod due to ACT units.
Owner. Car Make Autohaus. San Jose, CA.
RnD/Product Testing. Battle Garage RS.
Amsoil Dealer # 5615215
IG @Autohaus_Z for AE86 fun, T50 trans builds, and track life!

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Tue May 01, 2018 7:30 am

Yeah it makes sense to run a longer rod in that situation. I guess you can always make a rod for whatever length you need as well. Glad you got it sorted out!

businessinuse
Club4AG Regular
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:14 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby businessinuse » Wed May 02, 2018 10:18 am

Do you work for fortune auto?

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Thu May 03, 2018 7:47 am

I don't, if you are asking me. Anyhow, I just finished redoing almost all of my brake lines (minus the rear hardline) and added a hydraulic handbrake. The handbrake is setup independently to the rear wilwoods and I added a reservoir with all new lines. I will take some pictures later. Also, I would like to note that I had the driveshaft lengthened about an inch, so those of you that are or plan on running the jspfab mount kit w/ the xcessive driveshaft, ask them to make the driveshaft an inch longer. So I should just be able to bleed the system and the car should be off stands for hopefully a long time! Will update with pictures later.

businessinuse
Club4AG Regular
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:14 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby businessinuse » Sat Jun 02, 2018 10:31 am

Any updates?

notnilc20
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:56 pm
Location: Memphis

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby notnilc20 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:55 pm

Any chance to see ever see these pics again??

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:58 am

Yeah, apparently the picture hosting site I was using decided to delete a large majority of the photos. I still have all the photo's and can host them on a different service. Anyone have any suggestions? Also, the only update I have right now is that I am currently swapping out the 30 year old brake master with a new one. I am also mocking up a rear bash bar/bumper support.

notnilc20
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:56 pm
Location: Memphis

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby notnilc20 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:15 am

aukword1 wrote:Yeah, apparently the picture hosting site I was using decided to delete a large majority of the photos. I still have all the photo's and can host them on a different service. Anyone have any suggestions? Also, the only update I have right now is that I am currently swapping out the 30 year old brake master with a new one. I am also mocking up a rear bash bar/bumper support.


Would love to see how you did the wiring and all, how the engine sits in the bay and clearances. Also the part where you modded the fuel rail etc. And pics of your exhaust and how you dodged the steering arm. All those little things. Sounds like you did a great job on the swap.

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:51 pm

What img hosting service do you use?

notnilc20
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:56 pm
Location: Memphis

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby notnilc20 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:06 pm

aukword1 wrote:What img hosting service do you use?

I use www.postimage.org

notnilc20
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:56 pm
Location: Memphis

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby notnilc20 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:27 am

Hey Aukword1, i doubt you kept ac because i havent read anything on it and the pics dont work. But my question is....if one wanted to keep ac....how would you integrate the altezza lines that mount to the compressor to connect to the ae86 lines? My guess is to keep all 4 fitting ends and have a custom line built to fit?

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:18 am

Hey yeah, sorry I haven't had time to update/fix the photos but I will soon. As far as A/C goes, I am not running it at all. Probably easiest way would be to run the original 86 compressor and fabricate a mounting bracket if needed. If you'd want run the Beams compressor I'd imagine you'd have to do some work on the lines to get them to fit.

notnilc20
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:56 pm
Location: Memphis

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby notnilc20 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:49 am

aukword1 wrote:Hey yeah, sorry I haven't had time to update/fix the photos but I will soon. As far as A/C goes, I am not running it at all. Probably easiest way would be to run the original 86 compressor and fabricate a mounting bracket if needed. If you'd want run the Beams compressor I'd imagine you'd have to do some work on the lines to get them to fit.


Thanks for the reply....i know it's a PIA to redo the pics....so please dont sweat it. I'm just really interested in this build.

While I have you here...what made you go with the JSP mounts and shifter relocate kit over Excessive and SQ? Thanks.

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:11 pm

Because John's kit has the best engine placement I've seen and the shifter relocation kit is adjustable. Excessive's while cheaper doesn't have any room for adjustment on engine location or shifter. SQ i think makes a decent shifter relocation kit but I haven't tried it. John's stuff is worth the extra money IMO.

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:44 pm

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Last edited by aukword1 on Thu Sep 06, 2018 12:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:45 pm

here are most of the pics, let me know if you need any additional ones or need some explanations.

notnilc20
Club4AG Pro
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:56 pm
Location: Memphis

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby notnilc20 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:49 pm

aukword1 wrote:here are most of the pics, let me know if you need any additional ones or need some explanations.


Awesome! Thanks a lot!

User avatar
RuizXIII
Club4AG Enthusiast
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:33 pm
Location: Smell Ya Later, NJ

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby RuizXIII » Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:37 am

That's a nice little stash of photos to look at. Thanks!

Did you install that Kaaz LSD yourself? If so how was that process?

Dope build, man. Respect.
irony.cc

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:02 am

Thanks and that is the one thing I did not do myself because I didn't have a pinion depth tool. It was cheaper for me to have a trusted shop do it than to buy the tool and do it myself. You have to take the LSD apart and pull out the old spider gears and replace them with the weir ones. Similar process as changing the clutch plates. After thats all nice and torqued down you just have to set the pinion depth and backlash. There are plenty of tutorials for that process online.

zokustyle
Club4AG Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:18 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby zokustyle » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:17 am

Which filter do you have, the C604D? How's your filter clearance? I have basically the same setup (JSP brackets, Cusco mounts, 1 inch spacers, SQ ITB adapter, 100mm SQ stacks) and without actually buying and test fitting the C604D filter I'm not finding that I have the hood clearance for its dimensions even with the middle ribs removed. I was planning on stepping down to 70mm stacks and the C603D filter that has a 120mm overall height but if I can keep the 100mm stacks and run the C604D that would be ideal!

aukword1
Club4AG Expert
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:03 pm

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby aukword1 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:09 am

zokustyle wrote:Which filter do you have, the C604D? How's your filter clearance? I have basically the same setup (JSP brackets, Cusco mounts, 1 inch spacers, SQ ITB adapter, 100mm SQ stacks) and without actually buying and test fitting the C604D filter I'm not finding that I have the hood clearance for its dimensions even with the middle ribs removed. I was planning on stepping down to 70mm stacks and the C603D filter that has a 120mm overall height but if I can keep the 100mm stacks and run the C604D that would be ideal!


Yep im running that same filter with the SQ ITB plate and 100mm SQ stacks. I have enough clearance for the hood without any modifications and even the strut brace as you can see. Only difference is that i'm running megan motor mounts. Don't know if Cusco mounts are thicker or not but you should be fine.

User avatar
RuizXIII
Club4AG Enthusiast
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:33 pm
Location: Smell Ya Later, NJ

Re: Aukword1's Beams Swapped AE86

Postby RuizXIII » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:02 am

Thanks for the response, man. Appreciate the info.
Really am looking forward to more updates. This is a sweet build.
irony.cc

Disable adblock

This site is supported by ads and donations.
If you see this text you are blocking our ads.
Please consider a Donation to support the site.



Return to “OWNERS and BUILDERS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 0 guests