Installing new rear window seal for coupe

EvoSolley
Club4AG Enthusiast

Installing new rear window seal for coupe

Postby EvoSolley » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:28 am

Hey everyone,

This weekend (weather permitting), I will be Installing a new rear window seal for my AE86 coupe. I had a couple of questions before i start.

I will probably cut the existing window seal out since i have a used and brand new one.
Rust has developed in the 2 bottom corners of the rear window area. I have purchased a por-15 starter kit to remove, stop and prevent future rust from forming (hopefully)
I will Bondo over the treated area to make it nice and smooth then paint over that to finish.

When re applying the window seal, does anyone have any suggestions or advise on how to do this? Also, what kind of sealant should be applied under the weather stripping to make a tight seal?

Any advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated. this is my first time replacing a rear window seal so would like to be prepared ahead of time. :D
Last edited by EvoSolley on Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EvoSolley
Club4AG Enthusiast

Re: Installing new rear window seal for coupe

Postby EvoSolley » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:40 am

anyone?

EvoSolley
Club4AG Enthusiast

Postby EvoSolley » Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:43 am

I will be pulling the glass today. I think i understand the whole process except for the last bit of install. from repair manuals I have been looking at, I noticed that they say to apply adhesive between the glass and weatherstripping, as well as the body and weatherstripping after the glass is installed and in place. I have also read that for our cars, we don't have to do this step because the weatherstripping itself takes care of everything??

anyways, what kind of adhesive should I use for this step or do i even need to??

-Thanks!

Project9

Postby Project9 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:48 am

Looking forward to swing how this turns out. Good luck

allencr
Club4AG Expert