Brake line leak on hardline @ prop valve

CloudStrife
Club4AG Pro

Brake line leak on hardline @ prop valve

Postby CloudStrife » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:12 pm

Hey guys,

I'm not good with hydraulic lines but I have a weird leak symptom. It seems as though there is a very small but consistent leak on the upper connection for the hardline which goes into the (top of the) prop valve. It's odd though, that it's leaking (gradually pooling) where the nut and the line meet, so on the inner circumference?

Not sure if that makes sense but I'm just sort of confused how a leak progresses there.
Success guardian... Successsssssss..

totta crolla
Club4AG Pro

Re: Brake line leak on hardline @ prop valve

Postby totta crolla » Sat Mar 03, 2018 2:43 am

Could be vibration if the brake line is long and not supported anywhere close to the connection.
If there is no evidence of corrosion near the connection you could try tightening the nut.

CloudStrife
Club4AG Pro

Postby CloudStrife » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:04 am

I could see that.

I'm a little weary of over-tightening hard-line nuts. But if it's anything else it'll more than likely be replaced I guess.

When I installed the prop valve and new MC, almost all the lines were not kinked properly. I had references of factory routing and kinks so I know they were right, but I'm thinking one of them didn't go in right.. I'm pretty good about orientating threads to prevent cock-eyed thread movement though

CloudStrife
Club4AG Pro

Postby CloudStrife » Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:14 am

Ok, I guess I gave the shop too much credit when they did the brake bleed. Seems that nut was loose.

I'm gonna re-bleed and see how she goes, but pedal pumping doesn't seem to produce any kind of pooling so looks good!

CloudStrife
Club4AG Pro

Postby CloudStrife » Sun Mar 04, 2018 12:42 am

So I went for a drive after bleeding all the brakes from furthest to closest, and made sure there were no bubbles.