20v Swap Checklist

Nyriks
Club4AG Regular

20v Swap Checklist

Postby Nyriks » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:51 am

Hi,

Currently planning on swapping my 16v for a 20v. I have read http://club4ag.com/?page_id=145 and am aware of some of the specifics but I was confused on some of them.

I know for a fact I will have to...

1) get a new ECU

2) relocate the distributor. Anyone try this?
http://s-86.com/20v_dizzy_relocation.php OR
http://www.rhdjapan.com/sp-tec-distribu ... ae86-58913

3) get a new wiring harness
http://www.tweakdperformance.com/online ... ducts_id=1

4) redo water lines

5) electric fan

6) pilot bearing

7) modify the exhaust to fit 20v

What I am mainly confused about is 4-Wire heated O2 Sensor and All VSV solenoids. In the guide it just lists I need them but doesn't go into much detail about them. Sorry I am new to working on cars myself. Any pictures or so showing where is where and what I need to change out would be most appreciated.

-Tim

gotzoom?
Club4AG Expert

Re: 20v Swap Checklist

Postby gotzoom? » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:00 am

On the surface, this might seem like an easy swap, but it's really not. This is especially true if you're not familiar with wrenching on cars already. If you can leave the car on jackstands for a few weeks while you sort things out, it may be ok, but if your intent is to do the swap over a weekend and drive the car to work on Monday, I think you'll be taking the bus for a while. Even though you're prepared with all of the parts, you will still be faced with a number of issues that you can't foresee. Things just never seem to line up or be long enough the way they are supposed to. I'd either seek help from someone experienced or just take it to a shop and let them deal with it and save yourself a lot of headache.