CloudStrife's AE88

CloudStrife
Club4AG Pro

CloudStrife's AE88

Postby CloudStrife » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:00 pm

Hey guys,

I am new to the 4AG community. I'm actually pretty new to Toyotas as well. I had a Previa which I lived out of for 3-4 months and a 5th gen Celica which I loved but the motor was too unreliable; I love the Castrol celicas. I'm coming from 90's Mazdas, as I was getting upset at the failure rate and the lack of quality parts inventory for anything non-OEM. Basically if you don't have an Rx-7/miata you won't get very far..

Anyway, one day I guy had a GTS hatch for sale in the middle of nowhere Florida outside his trailer for a decent asking price. I test drove it and around the backroads and was just laughing at how enjoyable the car was to drive--and the 4AG was like angel trumpets :mrgreen:.

I couldn't stop thinking about the car and ended up buying it for $4500. It is a good deal for a stock GTS hatch, especially around here in FL where cars are horribly abused and uncared for.

Some pics:

The issues right now are mostly leaks (Engine oil, Trans, Center shaft??), and old a** parts.

-Stock suspension up front with Tokicko blues that are blown. Needs full refresh.
-All bushings worn
-High pitched whine coming from engine bay at cruising speeds/ high RPM.
-IAC/TPS issue (IAC is more than likely bad/needs to be cleaned, car will only run with TPS unplugged or else it will die after turning over)
-Torn boots with possible leaking rack (would like to upgrade to manual rack as P/S is wayyy too loose at highway speeds, very scary).
-Exhaust leak at first pipe after header (unknown header, broken connecting pipe that houses the bottom O2 sensor. Initially ghetto fixed with soda can, exhaust tape and worm clamps. had ordered a Pacesetter exhaust but they are garbage and returning them. Hoping to weld the pipe that is broken with a straight piece as I have a catless exhaust anyway).