AE86 4age 20v - First Build Ever

ciller

AE86 4age 20v - First Build Ever

Postby ciller » Fri Sep 26, 2014 3:13 pm

I just bought an AE86 with a 4age 20v already swapped in for $3000. Pretty sure I may have overpaid but since I have no idea what I am doing you all can be the judge of that. For over 14 years I've wanted an ae86 but lack of money and availability had prevented me. I should start out that I am completely clueless as to what I am doing. I am not much of a gearhead, I don't know much about mechanics, and in general still quite lost. On top of that I don't have a huge budget in the short term. In the long term I want to get this car into amazing shape and add some extras to make it special.

Lot of firsts on this car. This is my first time driving manual, my first ae86, and my first project car. I couldn't be more excited and will hopefully post here often because I want to keep a log of my clueless trials and tribulations. I have every website bookmarked and I've been doing research like mad but I still feel miles behind.

Here is the new ae86, so excited!

You will notice some damage on the skirting. Some time next year, when I replace the doors for light weight ones, I will also replace the skirting. I am still undecided on going original OEM or order something more aggressive looking.

Here is a shot of the interior. The bottom driver side floor was severely rusted out, with a hole right through where I could see to the ground and a beam of some sort. I ground out the rust and put a fiberglass patch in with bondo. Sanding it down caused a huge mess!! Dust everywhere, you might be able to see in this picture since I haven't wiped it down yet.

None of the engine shots turned out, just some close ups of a few problems. I'll come back with more shots later.