head work or bottom end?

jakes_hachiroku
Club4AG Enthusiast

head work or bottom end?

Postby jakes_hachiroku » Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:07 am

so this is more just a conversation starter but would really like to know what you guys think! so IFFFFF you had to only chose one, which would you benefit from most? working the head ie. cams, cnc port and polish, valve springs and stuff like that. orrr working the block, ie. forged pistons, rods, stroker, bore the cylinders, you know. to keep this controlled this will be lets say a standard 16v smallport keeping it N/A. so what do you guys think?!

mr2mk1hero
Club4AG Enthusiast

Re: head work or bottom end?

Postby mr2mk1hero » Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:44 am

I'm really no expert when compared to some of the guys on this forum, but I think working on the block and working on the head really go hand in hand and separating them is weird. A lot of compression without the right cams makes no sense, just like aggressive cams with stock compression also don't make sense. But let's assume it's for the purpose of having a fun conversation and throwing theories out there, which is also ok I guess :) In which category does the head gasket fall? Head or block work? I'll assume it's the head since it's a HEAD gasket.

Soooo....If I had to choose I would focus on the head and get a thin head gasket in there to raise the compression. With some aggressive cams, the appropriate valve springs and a well ported head you could get a revvy responsive screamer that comes alive at the top of the rpm range which for me personally is more fun to drive than a high torque stroker that pulls strong from low rpms. But I have to say it would be a shame to simply ignore the block.